Navotas LGU places Barangays Tanza 1 and 2 under lockdown

Marje Pelayo   •   August 3, 2021   •   338

MANILA, Philippines – Mayor Toby Tiangco of Navotas City announced placing Barangays Tanza 1 and 2 under lockdown due to the rapid spread of COVID-19 infection in the said areas.

In his Facebook post, the city mayor noted an increase in infection rate after 25 percent who underwent the latest mass testing turned out positive for COVID-19.

“Bagaman may ECQ na sa August 6, kinailangan nating maglockdown para mahinto ang mabilis na hawaan,” Tiangco said.

The Mayor reminds all residents of concerned barangays to remain indoors and submit to swab testing.

“Sinumang magpositibo ay dadalhin agad sa community isolation facility. Bibigyan din ng relief packs ang mga pamilyang apektado,” he said.

Meanwhile, essential workers in areas under lockdown will be allowed to go out until August 5 provided that they have not been in close contact with a positive case.

They will be required to present a valid company ID, certificate of employment, or a business or permit from the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI).

Tiangco stressed that once the enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) takes effect on August 6, only those considered as Authorized Persons Outside Residence (APOR)  by the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) will be allowed.

While under lockdown and ECQ, residents in Barangay Tanza 1 will be allowed access to the market during Wednesdays, Fridays, and Sundays while residents of Barangay Tanza 2 are allowed every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday.

On August 6, ECQ policies will be imposed, Tiangco said.

“Hindi po natin gusto ang lockdown; mahirap ito para sa ating lahat. Ngunit kailangan po ito para sa ikabubuti ng bawat isa,” he added. “Hinihingi po namin ang iyong lubos na suporta at kooperasyon. Pakikiisa ang tatapos sa pandemya.”

4 religious facilities in QC under lockdown due to high COVID-19 cases

Aileen Cerrudo   •   September 22, 2021

The Quezon City local government has placed four religious facilities under lockdown due to high number of coronavirus disease (COVID-19) cases.

Based on the report of the Quezon City Epidemiology and Disease Surveillance Unit (QCESU) there is a recent outbreak in Christ the King Mission Seminary, where almost half of its population has been infected. Out of the 59 individuals in the seminary, 25 tested positive for the virus.

As of September 18, eleven of these positive cases have recovered, 13 remain active, and one has succumbed to COVID-19.

QCESU Chief Dr. Rolando Cruz reported that the seminary’s Villa Cristo Rey and Fininman Building have bee placed under Special Concern Lockdown (SCL) since September 18.

The temporary closure of Christ the King Mission Seminary brings the total number of religious facilities in the city under lockdown to four. The other three are  Stella Maris Convent (since September 10); Religious of the Virgin Mary (since September 14) and Convent of the Holy Spirit which has been under lockdown since September 15.

Meanwhile, the Quezon City government has started creating a set of guidelines on ventilation for buildings and workplaces to prevent and control the spread of COVID-19. AAC

10 areas under MECQ from Sept. 8 to 30

Robie de Guzman   •   September 6, 2021

MANILA, Philippines — Ten areas will shift to modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) classification from Sept. 8 to 30, Malacañang announced Monday.

Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque said the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) approved the following areas to be placed under MECQ:

  • Apayao
  • Bataan
  • Bulacan
  • Cavite
  • Lucena City
  • Laguna
  • Rizal
  • Iloilo Province
  • Iloilo City
  • Cagayan de Oro City

Roque, who also serves as IATF spokesperson, said Metro Manila will be downgraded to general community quarantine (GCQ) from Sept. 8 to 30.

He said that during this period, a pilot testing of the granular lockdown will be implemented. Guidelines for pilot areas may be released on Monday or Tuesday.

Metro Manila was previously placed under MECQ from Aug. 21 to Sept. 7.

Meanwhile, the following areas will shift to GCQ with heightened restrictions:

  • Ilocos Sur
  • Ilocos Norte
  • Cagayan
  • Pangasinan
  • Quezon
  • Batangas
  • Naga City
  • Antique
  • Bacolod City
  • Capiz
  • Cebu Province
  • Lapu-Lapu City
  • Negros Oriental
  • Zamboanga del Sur
  • Misamis Oriental
  • Davao City
  • Davao del Norte
  • Davao de Oro
  • Davao Occidental
  • Butuan City

The following areas will be under GCQ:

  • Baguio City
  • Kalinga
  • Abra
  • Benguet
  • Dagupan City
  • Santiago City
  • Quirino
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Tarlac
  • Occidental Mindoro
  • Puerto Princesa
  • Aklan
  • Guimaras
  • Negros Occidental
  • Cebu City
  • Mandaue City
  • Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Zamboanga City
  • Zamboanga del Norte
  • Misamis Occidental
  • Iligan City
  • Davao Oriental
  • Davao del Sur
  • General Santos City
  • Sultan Kudarat
  • Sarangani
  • North Cotabato
  • South Cotabato
  • Agusan del Norte
  • Agusan del Sur
  • Dinagat Islands
  • Surigao del Norte
  • Surigao del Sur
  • Cotabato City
  • Lanao del Sur

The rest of the Philippines will be under MGCQ, Roque said.

Quezon City completes distribution of ECQ ‘ayuda 2’ to 2.3 million residents

Aileen Cerrudo   •   August 30, 2021

The Quezon City government has completed the distribution of P2.48 billion financial assistance to its residents.

As of August 28, a total of 2,339,420 individuals or 747,520 families have claimed their P1,000 to P4,000 aid from different distribution centers in the city.

The local government reported that the aid distribution was completed five days earlier than the deadline set by the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG).

Quezon City Mayor Joy Belmonte said the city has also begun distribution of unclaimed ayuda. She reported that there are still 89,154 households that have yet to claim their financial aid.

According to Social Services Development Department (SSDD) head Fe Macale, the city had updated the beneficiary list to remove ineligible and duplicate names days before the ayuda distribution.

“Kaya naging mabilis at maayos ang distribution natin ngayon kasi malinis na ang listahan natin. Inayos natin ito para ma-update ang listahan at mabigyan ang mga residenteng nararapat talagang mabigyan ng ayuda (The distribution has been fast and orderly because our list is organized. We updated the list to make sure eligible residents will receive aid),” she said.

Beneficiaries who have yet to get their ECQ ayuda 2 are advised to monitor the QC government Facebook page and website for further announcements.

Meanwhile, a grievance and appeals committee was stationed in payout sites to address the complaints of constituents regarding financial aid.

Kapag may natitira pang pondo pagkatapos nating maibigay ‘yung ayuda para sa mga unclaimed (should there be excess in the funds after the distribution for the unclaimed has been released), residents who filed grievances or complaints will now be subject for payout,” Macale added. AAC


The Philippine Broadcast Hub

UNTV, 915 Barangay Philam,

EDSA, Quezon City M.M. 1104

(+632) 8396-8688 (Tel) (General inquiries)


UNTV is a major TV broadcast network with 24-hour programming. An Ultra High Frequency station with strong brand content that appeal to everyone, UNTV is one of the most trusted and successful Philippine networks that guarantees wholesome and quality viewing experience.