Emergency Hotlines: LANDLINE (+63) 2 911 – 8688

Motion to intervene quo warranto vs. Sereno filed anew

by UNTV News   |   Posted on Friday, March 23rd, 2018

FILE PHOTO: Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno

MANILA, Philippines — The Integrated Bar of the Philippines (IBP) on Friday filed before the Supreme Court the second motion to intervene in the quo warranto plea against Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno.

The motion aims to seek for court’s approval to allow them to weigh the petition which asks for the nullification of the appointment of the highest court official.

This is aside from the deliberation that will be done by the magistrates of the Supreme Court.

“We think that this is a very critical period in the democratic life of the country. Whether or not, the judiciary will be strengthened, will more or less be determined by events that led to the filing of the impeachment complaint at a quo warranto petition by the republic,” IBP Pres. Abdiel Fajardo.

This, they said is a threat to the freedom of public officials who will go against the ideals of the administration.

It’s also a form of shortcut to the impeachment process since under the Constitution — it is only through impeachment in which the chief justice can be removed for an impeachable offense.

“We will be participating as opposition, possibly if we are granted permission by the court,” Fajardo said.

— Mai Bermudez | UNTV News & Rescue


Tags: , ,

IBP nominates acting CJ Carpio as next SC top magistrate

by UNTV News   |   Posted on Tuesday, June 26th, 2018

Acting Chief Justice Antonio Carpio

At the formal opening today of the application and nomination for the country’s next top judge, the Integrated Bar of the Philippines nominated  Acting Chief Justice Antonio Carpio for the chief justice post.

In a statement, the largest association of lawyers in the country said that Carpio is the most qualified to lead and manage the Supreme Court and the entire Philippine judiciary as he is the most senior justice in the high tribunal.

But Carpio has earlier said he will reject the nomination to the position, citing his stand in the unprecedented ruling that ousted Atty. Maria Lourdes Sereno as chief justice.

Carpio is one of the six justices who dissented from the majority and dismissed the quo warranto petition filed by the Office of the Solicitor General against Sereno.

Aside from Carpio, other most senior justices in the high court namely, Associate Justices Teresita De Castro, Lucas Bersamin and Samuel Peralta are also automatically nominated to the post.

They may accept or reject the nomination until July 26, 2018.

“In tradition, the five most senior justices are automatically nominated. Justice de Castro is nearing her end of term in October but she is still technically qualified,” explained JBC member Atty. Jose Mejia.

Meanwhile, Albay Representative Edcel Lagman believes the eight associate justices who voted to grant the quo warranto petition against Sereno should reject the said nomination.

They should also be disqualified from their respective posts as they will soon face impeachment complaints on grounds of culpable violation of the Constitution and betrayal of public trust. — Mai Bermudez | UNTV News & Rescue


Tags: , , , , , ,

JBC to finalize nomination, application procedures for the next CJ

by UNTV News and Rescue   |   Posted on Friday, June 22nd, 2018


MANILA, Philippines — The Judicial Bar Council (JBC) will convene on Monday (June 25) to set final guidelines on the nomination and application process for the next Chief Justice of the Supreme Court (SC).

Justice Secretary Menardo Guevarra, an ex-officio member of the JBC, said in a text message on Thursday (June 21): “It is expected that the JBC will direct the publication of a notice stating that it will now accept applications or nominations for the vacant CJ position.”

Meanwhile, Atty. Jose Mejia assured that they will be strict when it comes to screening the applicants especially on the issue of the statement of assets, liabilities and net worth (SALN); an important document that triggered a controversy and toppled Maria Lourdes Sereno as chief justice.

“We have always been strict naman kasi simple lang naman kasi iyan. Here are the requirements you submit kaya lang may konting nuisances that had to happen,” Mejia explained.

Mejia added that they may also consider cutting the application period short.

“Normally we give 45 days, but with this one, since time is of the essence, maybe we will lower down the number of days for the application, ” he said.

After the screening process, the JBC will begin the public interviews before deliberating on the shortlist and voting for the person  they will recommend to President Rodrigo Duterte.

Under the law, the chief justice position must be filled within 90 days from the occurrence of the vacancy. – JL Asayo / Marje Pelayo

Tags: , , ,

SC upholds quo warranto ruling, voids Sereno’s appointment as chief justice

by UNTV News and Rescue   |   Posted on Tuesday, June 19th, 2018



MANILA, Philippines — The Supreme Court (SC) on Tuesday, June 19, denied with finality Maria Lourdes Sereno’s motion for reconsideration for SC to overturn its ruling on the petition against her appointment as chief justice.

In a full court session, the SC upheld its decision on the quo warranto petition of Solicitor General Jose Calida which nullified the appointment of Sereno as the top magistrate of the country.

On May 11 in a special en banc session, the magistrates voted 8-6 to declare Sereno’s appointment as invalid.

In today’s notice, the SC announced the start of the 90-day period for filling the vacancy of the Office of the Chief Justice.

The Judicial Bar Council (JBC) as it announced earlier, is expected to open its nominations for the next chief justice as the SC ruling on the quo warranto has now become final. – UNTV News & Rescue

Tags: , , ,