Lawmakers question lax enforcement of sanctions vs power producers with unscheduled outages

Maris Federez   •   April 25, 2019   •   927

The Senate of the Philippines conducted an investigation on the thinning electric supply in Luzon Grid brought about by the unplanned maintenance shutdown of some power plants.

The Committee on Energy of both houses of Congress, in a joint hearing, questioned the Energy Regulatory Board and the Department of Energy on the measures they have undertaken to counter the scarcity of electric supply during the hot season.

The lawmakers said they find the almost simultaneous unscheduled maintenance shutdown of power plants baffling.

They questioned the lack of clear policy on meting out penalties against erring power producers.

Senate committee on energy chairman, Senator Sherwin Gatchalian, stressed, “We want to see a policy that will penalize the power producers because it’s their job to make sure that their commitment is always a commitment.”

To which, DOE Asec. Redentor Deleola answered, “As of now, none Mr. Chair. Again, depending on their contractual arrangement with their off-takers.”

Meanwhile, consumer group Laban Konsyumer insisted that the ERC should take after the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System (MWSS) when it penalized Manila Water due to the recent water crisis.

Atty. Vic Dimagiba of Laban Konsyumer said, “they can do what MWSS did. (They have) the mandate to impose a penalty.”

The DOE, on the other hand, said that they are now reviewing several policies, such as the Interruptible Load Program.

This is to prevent power crisis that maintenance shutdowns of power plants might bring. –Maris Federez (with reports from Nel Maribojoc)

Neophyte Senators get key committees in Senate

Marje Pelayo   •   July 23, 2019

The Senate of the Philippines released on Tuesday (July 23) its first batch of elected chairpersons for different committees this 18th Congress.

  1. Agriculture & Food – Sen. Cynthia Villar (retained)
  2. Blue Ribbon Committee – Sen. Richard Gordon (retained)
  3. Constitutional Amendments & Revision of Codes – Sen. Kiko Pangilinan (formerly chaired by Sen. Franklin Drilon)
  4. Economic Affairs – Sen. Imee Marcos (formerly chaired by Sen. Sherwin Gatchalian)
  5. Energy – Sen. Sherwin Gatchalian (retained)
  6. Finance – Sen. Sonny Angara (formerly chaired by ex-Senator Loren Legarda)
  7. Foreign relations – Sen. Koko Pimentel (formerly chaired by now House Speaker Alan Peter Cayetano)
  8. Games & Amusement – Sen. Lito Lapid (formerly chaired by Sen. Panfilo Lacson)
  9. Health & Demography – Sen. Bong Go (formerly chaired by ex-Sen. JV Ejercito)
  10. Labor, Employment & Human resources development – Sen. Joel Villanueva (retained)
  11. Local Government – Sen. Francis Tolentino (formerly chaired by Sen. Sonny Angara)
  12. National Defense & Security – Sen. Panfilo Lacson (formerly chaired by now DICT chief Gringo Honasan)
  13. Public Information & Mass Media – Sen. Bong Revilla Jr. (formerly chaired by Sen. Grace Poe)
  14. Public Order & Dangerous Drugs – Sen. Ronald Dela Rosa (formerly chaired by Sen. Panfilo Lacson)
  15. Public Services – Sen. Grace Poe (retained)
  16. Public Works – Sen. Manny Pacquiao (retained)
  17. Social Justice, Welfare & Rural Development – Sen. Leila De Lima (formerly chaired by Sen. Cynthia Villar)
  18. Tourism – Sen. Nancy Binay (retained)
  19. Ways & Means- Sen. Pia Cayetano (formerly chaired by Sen. Sonny Angara)
  20. Women, Children, Family Relations & Gender Equality – Sen. Risa Hontiveros (retained)

Meanwhile, the Senate has yet to announce the chairpersons for the following key Senate Committees:

  1. Accounts
  2. Agrarian Reform
  3. Banks, Financial Institutions, and Currencies
  4. Civil Service and Government Reorganization
  5. Climate Change
  6. Cooperatives
  7. Cultural communities
  8. Education
  9. Electoral Reforms and People’s Participation
  10. Environment and Natural Resources
  11. Ethics and Privileges
  12. Government Corporations and Public Enterprises
  13. Justice and Human Rights
  14. Peace, Unification, and Reconciliation
  15. Rules
  16. Science and Technology
  17. Sports
  18. Trade and Commerce
  19. Urban Planning, Housing and Resettlement
  20. Youth

Luzon grid on red, yellow alerts – NGCP

Robie de Guzman   •   June 19, 2019

The National Grid Corporation of the Philippines (NGCP) on Wednesday placed the Luzon grid on red and yellow alerts.

In a Twitter post, the NGCP said the Luzon grid will be under yellow alert from 8 a.m. to 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. to 10 p.m.

The red alert will be from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The NGCP said the available capacity of Luzon grid is 10, 962 megawatts (MW) while peak demand is at 11, 134MW.

These alerts mean that power reserves are lower than the demand. Rotating brownouts may also occur during the hours when the red alert is raised.

The NGCP said the current available capacity of Luzon grid is 10,962 megawatts (MW) while peak demand is at 11,134MW.

The agency added that the details on the cause of the issuance will be released by the Department of Energy later in the day.

NGCP: Luzon Grid under yellow alert

Robie de Guzman   •   June 4, 2019

Courtesy : storyblocks

The National Grid Corporation of the Philippines (NGCP) on Tuesday placed the Luzon grid on yellow alert amid thinning power reserves.

In an advisory, the NGCP said the alert will be in place from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

A yellow alert notice means operating reserves have dropped below the required 647 megawatts (MW) contingency in Luzon or equivalent to the largest unit online. 

Luzon grid status, 04 June 2019:Yellow Alert10:00AM-4:00PMAvailable Capacity – 11,764MWPeak Demand – 10,831MWDetails on the cause to be announced by the Department of Energy (DOE) later in the day.

Posted by National Grid Corporation of the Philippines on Monday, 3 June 2019

The Luzon grid’s available capacity is 11,764 MW against an expected peak demand of 10,831 MW.

The NGCP said details on the cause will be announced by the Department of Energy (DOE) later in the day.


The Philippine Broadcast Hub

UNTV, 915 Barangay Philam,

EDSA, Quezon City M.M. 1104

(+632) 8396-8688 (Tel) (General inquiries)


UNTV is a major TV broadcast network with 24-hour programming. An Ultra High Frequency station with strong brand content that appeal to everyone, UNTV is one of the most trusted and successful Philippine networks that guarantees wholesome and quality viewing experience.