Lacson-Sotto tandem backs 14 senatorial bets

Maris Federez   •   October 14, 2021   •   197

MANILA, Philippines — The Lacson-Sotto tandem is set to endorse 14 possible senatorial candidates in the coming 2022 national elections.

Senator Panfilo Lacson said they do not see any problem in endorsing more than 12 candidates, emphasizing that the 14 got what it takes and deserve to be in the Senate.

The Lacson-Sotto senatorial lineup is as follows:

  • Sorsogon Gov. Francis ‘Chiz’ Escudero
  • House Deputy Speaker and Antique Rep. Loren Legarda
  • Senator Juan Miguel ‘Migz’ Zubiri
  • Senator Sherwin Gatchalian
  • Senator Joel Villanueva
  • Senator Richard Gordon
  • Former Senator JV Ejercito
  • Former Makati Rep. Monsour Del Rosario
  • Minguita Padilla
  • Former Agriculture Sec. Manny Piñol
  • DICT Sec. Gringo Honasan
  • Former Vice President Jejomar Binay, and
  • Media Practitioner Paolo Capino

Lacson said they also have a surprise senatorial candidate coming up.

He added that they still have until November 15 to finalize their senatorial slate. —/mbmf (from the report of UNTV Correspondent Harlene Delgado)

Lacson-Sotto tandem to endorse 15 senatorial bets in 2022 polls

Robie de Guzman   •   October 15, 2021

MANILA, Philippines – The tandem of Senator Panfilo Lacson and Senate President Vicente Sotto III has bared the list of senatorial candidates they will be endorsing in the 2022 national and local elections.

The list includes the following senatorial bets:

  1. Antique Rep. Loren Legarda
  2. Sorsogon Gov. Chiz Escudero
  3. Senator Sherwin Gatchalian
  4. Senator Migs Zubiri
  5. Senator Joel Villanueva
  6. Senator Richard Gordon
  7. Former Vice President Jejomar Binay
  8. Former DICT Secretary Gringo Honasan
  9. Former Senator JV Ejercito
  10. Former QC Mayor Herbert Bautista
  11. Former DA Secretary Manny Piñol
  12. Monsour del Rosario
  13. Powee Capino
  14. Minguita Padilla

Sotto said the senatorial candidates included in their list are the ones who “deserve to be in the Senate.”

They will also endorse a “surprise candidate.”

“Tulungan niyo po kami sa pagtaguyod sa kandidatura ng ating mga kaibigan. Nakakasiguro po kami na malaki ang maitutulong ng ating mga kandidato sa ating bansa, sa ating mga kababayan, at sa Senado,” Sotto said.

Lacson and Sotto are seeking the presidency and vice presidency, respectively, in the next year’s polls.

Pacquiao-Atienza tandem bares senatorial lineup

Maris Federez   •   October 15, 2021

MANILA, Philippines — Senator Manny Pacquiao on Friday announced the senatorial lineup for the 2022 national elections under the Pacquaio-Atienza tandem.

The slate is composed of media personalities, former and incumbent senators, and a former vice president. The list is as follows:

  • Broadcaster Raffy Tulfo
  • Senator Miguel Zubiri
  • Former Senator Francis “Chiz” Escudero
  • Former Vice President Jejomar Binay
  • Senator Joel Villanueva
  • Former Senator Loren Legarda
  • Senator Richard “Dick Gordon
  • Labor Leader Elmer Labog
  • Human Rights Fighter, Neri Colmenares
  • Former Governor Lutgardo “Lutz” Barbo

Pacquiao earlier filed his certificate of candidacy for president under PROMDI — a national party founded by the late former Cebu governor Lito Osmeña — with House Deputy Speaker and former Manila mayor Lito Atienza as his running mate. —/mbmf

Robredo announces Senate slate

Maris Federez   •   October 15, 2021

MANILA, Philippines — Vice President Maria Leonor “Leni” Robredo has announced the Robredo-Pangilinan tandem senatorial slate for the May 2022 national and local elections consisting of eleven candidates.

Robredo made the announcement on Friday (October 15) at the Rotary Club of Manila’s 16th Membership Meeting where she was guest of honor and speaker.

“After we announce our senatorial slate, you will see that our slate is composed of representatives from many different parties. At most, we would only have, I think, three from the Liberal Party,” she said.

The lineup includes former Senator Sonny Trillanes, senators Risa Hontiveros, and Leila De Lima, Human Rights Lawyer Chel Diokno, former Ifugao Rep. Teddy Baguilat, and Alex Lacson.

Meanwhile, senators Richard Gordon, Juan Miguel ‘Migz’ Zubiri, Joel Villanueva, former senator and Sorsogon Governor Francis ‘Chiz’ Escudero, and former vice president Jejomar Binay are also on the list as guest candidates.

These five candidates are also included in the Lacson-Sotto ticket.

Robredo said that they are still in the process of selecting the 12th candidate that will complete their lineup.

She said they want to ensure that the marginalized sector will be very well represented.

Robredo added that they are choosing between Bayan Muna chairman Neri Colmenares and Atty. Sonny Matula of Nagkaisa and Federation of Free Workers who both have filed their certificates of candidacy for senator.

Meanwhile, Atty. Chel Diokno said he is honored for being selected.

“It’s an honor na maging bahagi ng Senate slate ni VP Leni Robredo at Sen. Kiko Pangilinan. This is a clear sign na sa pamumuno nila, kabilang sa priority ang trabaho nating lagyan ng ngipin ang batas,” he said.

Diokno, who is the chairperson of the Free Legal Assistance Group, will run under the Katipunan ng Nagkakaisang Pilipino (KANP).

“Nagpapasalamat din kami ng KANP na makasama ang iba’t ibang partido sa labang ito, kahit pa bago lang kami. Nakakabuhay ng loob makita yung pagkakaisa sa Senate slate na ito—at handang-handa na kami magtulungan at lumaban para sa matino, mahusay, at makatarungang pamumuno,” Diokno added.

Sen. Juan Miguel ‘Migz’ Zubiri also expressed gratitude for his inclusion in the said slate.

“As an independent candidate, I am thankful to be included in Vice President Leni Robredo’s senatorial slate for the 2022 elections,” Zubiri said.

The lawmaker also thanked Senators Panfilo Lacson and Manny Pacquiao for also including him in their respective senatorial lineups.

“I still remain an independent candidate—at the end of the day, ang loyalty ko po ay sa taumbayan, hindi sa anumang partido. But as a team player, I am willing and able to work alongside anyone who shares in our goal of serving the Filipino people first,” Zubiri added.

On the other hand, Makabayan Chairman Neri Colmenares who was not included in the initial list said it was the vice-president’s prerogative.

“Vice President Leni Robredo’s decision on who to include in her senatorial slate is her prerogative as the Presidential candidate. My non-inclusion in her slate at this time is based on what she thinks is best for the interest of her candidacy,” he said.

Colmenares, however, thanked Justice Antonio Carpio and the 1Sambayan group for including him among their senatorial bets.

He underscored that his “resolve to run for the Senate is based on the need to give the poor and marginalized a strong voice in the legislature.”

“We, in Makabayan, have always relied on the support of various groups and the people for progressive and pro-people independent candidates like me,” Colmenares further stated.  —/mbmf (with details from UNTV Correspondent Harlene Delgado)


The Philippine Broadcast Hub

UNTV, 915 Barangay Philam,

EDSA, Quezon City M.M. 1104

(+632) 8396-8688 (Tel) (General inquiries)


UNTV is a major TV broadcast network with 24-hour programming. An Ultra High Frequency station with strong brand content that appeal to everyone, UNTV is one of the most trusted and successful Philippine networks that guarantees wholesome and quality viewing experience.