8 provinces, 31 areas under state of calamity due to El Niño

Marje Pelayo   •   April 17, 2019   •   2158

MANILA, Philippines – More than 35 areas across the country are now under state of calamity due to the effects of El Niño.

According to the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC), eight provinces and 31 cities and municipalities have recorded extreme damage in agriculture, particularly corn and palay, with an estimated value of P5.051 billion pesos.

The areas under state of calamity are:

CAR – Paracelis, Mt. Province

REGION II- Dupax del Norte, Nueva Viscaya

CALABARZON – Quezon Province

MIMAROPA – San Jose and Rizal, Occidental Mindoro ; Sta Cruz, Marinduque

REGION V – Camarines Sur

REGION VI – Lambunao and Bingawan, Iloilo; Murcia, Negros Occidental


REGION IX – Zamboanga City

REGION XII  –  COTABATO Alamada, M’lang, Pikit, Aleosan, Magpet, Tulan, Arakan, Cotabato, Matalam, Kidapawan City, Lutayan, Sulatan Kudarat; Alabel Sarangani; Bagumbayan, Sultan Kudarat; T’Boli, South Cotabato; Sultan Kudarat Province


Paglat, Sultan Kudarat; Matanog; Datu Abdullah Sangki ; Pagalungan; Upi ; Ampatuan Province of Basilan

About 164,000 farmers and over 177, 000 hectares of farmlands are now affected, the NDRRMC said.

Meanwhile, the water level in Angat Dam continues to recede due to El Niño.

According to PAGASA, water reserve in Angat Dam has dropped by half a meter to 185.15 meters on Wednesday (April 17) as compared to its measurement yesterday.

The National Water Resources Board (NWRB) advised farmlands to brace for the possible cut in irrigation once the water level in Angat Dam further drops to 180 meters as the agency opts to prioritize water requirement in Metro Manila. – Marje Pelayo (with details from Rey Pelayo)

State of calamity declared over 9 municipalities in Eastern Samar

Marje Pelayo   •   May 19, 2020

EASTERN SAMAR, Philippines — Nine municipalities in the province have been placed under state of calamity in the aftermath of Typhoon Ambo.

These areas are:

  • Sulat
  • Taft
  • Can-avid
  • Dolores
  • Oras
  • San Policarpio
  • Arteche
  • Jipapag
  • Maslog

The declaration was based on the recommendation of Governor Ben Evardone and was approved by the Provincial Board. 

The Provincial Board also approved the release of the P60-M financial assistance to around 30,000 families in the province who did not receive subsidy from the Social Amelioration Program (SAP). 

Each of the 30,000 families will receive P2,000 cash aid, which excludes beneficiaries of the Pantawid Pamilyang Pilipino Program (4Ps), Tupad and Sure Aid.

Also among those who are entitled to the P2,000 cash assistance are barangay healthcare workers, barangay tanod and barangay nutritional scholars. MNP (with inputs from Bernard Dadis)

Japan PM officially declares state of emergency

UNTV News   •   April 7, 2020

Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe | Image courtesy of Reuters Connect

Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe on Tuesday (April 7) declared a state of emergency to fight new coronavirus infections in major population centres and unveiled a stimulus package he described as among the world’s biggest to soften the economic blow.

The state of emergency, giving authorities more power to press people to stay at home and businesses to close, will last through May 6 and be imposed in the capital, Tokyo, and six other prefectures – accounting for about 44% of Japan’s population.

“The most important thing is to change people’s actions,” Abe said in televised comments made at a meeting of a government task force.

Abe will speak at a news conference later tonight to explain to the citizens what the emergency declaration means for the people to get consent from the public. (Reuters)

(Production: Hideto Sakai, Akiko Okamoto)

Philippines declares state of calamity over coronavirus threat

Robie de Guzman   •   March 17, 2020

MANILA, Philippines – President Rodrigo Duterte has declared a state of calamity due to the rapidly growing novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19) infections in the country.

In Proclamation No. 929, signed on Monday, Duterte said the declaration would afford the national government as well as local government units ample latitude to use appropriate funds to combat the spread of COVID-19.

The funds will also be used to continue to provide basic services to the affected population, the proclamation said.

The state of calamity will last for six months unless lifted or extended by the President “as circumstances may warrant,” the proclamation stated.

“Despite government interventions, the number of cases of COVID-19 continues to rise,” it said.

The Philippine Health Department on Tuesday reported 45 new cases, bringing the total coronavirus infections to 187.

Under the state of calamity, all government agencies and local government units are enjoined “to render full assistance to, and cooperation with each other, and mobilize the necessary resources to undertake critical, urgent, and appropriate disaster response aid and measures in a timely manner to curtail and eliminate the threat of COVID-19.”

Law enforcement agencies, with the support of the military, are also directed to take necessary measures to ensure peace and order in the affected areas.

The declaration comes after Duterte imposed a Luzon-wide enhanced community quarantine starting Tuesday.


The Philippine Broadcast Hub

UNTV, 915 Barangay Philam,

EDSA, Quezon City M.M. 1104

(+632) 8396-8688 (Tel)

info@untv-newsandrescue.com (General inquiries)


UNTV is a major TV broadcast network with 24-hour programming. An Ultra High Frequency station with strong brand content that appeal to everyone, UNTV is one of the most trusted and successful Philippine networks that guarantees wholesome and quality viewing experience.